

Congress of the United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

October 11, 2023

The Honorable Janet Yellen Secretary U.S. Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20220 The Honorable Danny Werfel Commissioner Internal Revenue Service 1111 Constitution Ave NW Washington, D.C. 20224

Dear Secretary Yellen and Commissioner Werfel:

Thank you for all the work that you and your colleagues at the U.S. Department of the Treasury (Treasury Department) and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) have done to implement the landmark *Inflation Reduction Act*, which all of the undersigned strongly supported in the 117th and 118th Congress. The benefits from this law have had far-reaching impacts for our constituents and we are pleased that the Treasury Department and IRS have quickly published guidance and frequently asked questions for consumers, businesses, and non-profits on how they can benefit from the tax assistance provided in this law.

We are writing today concerning a specific tax credit in the *Inflation Reduction Act* that will provide important benefits for communities throughout the country that have experienced job loss, economic distress, and serious health ramifications because of the construction of coal and gas-fired power plants in their districts, as well as the closure of these operations. Specifically, we write to express our strong support for expanded options for offshore wind energy to qualify for the *Inflation Reduction Act's* Energy Communities Bonus Credit. Although we are appreciative of the Treasury Department and IRS's inclusion of offshore wind projects' main interconnection points in the guidance for the Energy Communities Bonus Credit, we are concerned that the lack of inclusion of marshaling and operations & maintenance ports and secondary points of interconnection runs counter to the intent of the *Inflation Reduction Act* to support the transition of impacted communities to a clean energy economy.

The Treasury Department and IRS's guidance published on April 4, 2023 provides a single and very limited path for eligibility for offshore wind energy projects – its onshore substation located closest to its interconnection point must be in an energy community.¹ While allowing onshore substations to qualify in this manner is a good first step, this narrowly drawn test does not reflect

¹ IRS, Notice 2023-29. Energy Community Bonus Credit Amounts under the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022. https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-23-29.pdf.

the broad benefits that offshore wind energy projects bring to energy communities, who will bear the brunt of the economic energy transition.

To this end, we urge the Treasury Department and IRS to issue additional guidance as quickly as possible to expand the eligibility for certain offshore wind energy facilities – including marshaling and operations & maintenance ports and secondary points of interconnection – to qualify for the Energy Communities Bonus Credit. This would better align the guidance with Congressional intent for the Energy Communities Bonus Credit, which was to encourage economic investment and new job opportunities in areas burdened by the loss of certain energy industries.

Allowing secondary points of interconnection and marshaling and operations & maintenance ports to qualify for the Energy Communities Bonus Credit will support job creation and clean energy transition in parts of the country that otherwise may not receive the benefits of this essential assistance.

Thank you for your attention to this request. We look forward to continuing our work with you on the continued implementation of the *Inflation Reduction Act* and are available to discuss this issue with you further at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

tim Himes Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bill Gascrill J

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

Ba

John B. Larson Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Tier R. Keating

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Pauls.tonles

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

phana Hayco

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Irak

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Gum S. Tur

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Lewold Hadler

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

m

David J. Trone Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Lamie Raskin Member of Congress

ton

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Trank Pallon.

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Berne Water Colema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Quis Suma

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Selves

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Laskeda flait

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Frederica Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

namici

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

0

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Chelk R____

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

stin Par

Katie Porter Member of Congress

hKM

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

mmy Panetta Member of Congress

10.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Josa Longhamp

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

+ Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Komber

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Dove

Sydney Kamlage Dove Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

May Sattles Peltola

Mary Sattler Peltola Member of Congress

CC:

The Honorable Wally Adeyemo Deputy Secretary of the Treasury U.S. Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20220

The Honorable Lily Batchelder Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

HNoton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

U.S. Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, D.C. 20220