## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

October 5, 2023

Members of the GOP Conference 549 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Republican Colleagues:

Earlier this week, eight Republican members of the U.S. House of Representatives joined in an alliance with 208 Democrats to adopt a motion to vacate the Speaker of the House. That translates to less than 4 percent of our Republican Conference joining with all Democrats to override the will of the remaining 96 percent of House Republicans on one of the most consequential votes the House has taken in over a century.

Worse still, just last Friday, seven of these eight individuals also joined with Democrats to defeat the most conservative funding and border security package in history.

Despite just a four-seat majority and both a Democrat-controlled Senate and White House, Speaker McCarthy has been one of the most accomplished Republican leaders in modern history. He has tirelessly worked with all factions of our Conference to restore regular order, decentralize decision making, reopen the People's House, and achieve real results in a divided government on issues ranging from energy independence and combatting crime to cutting out-of-control spending and securing our border.

Ashamed and embarrassed by what happened on the Floor this week, we refuse to allow the eight members who abandoned and undermined our Conference to dictate every outcome in policy and personnel for the remainder of this Congress, including the upcoming selection of the Speaker of the House.

As such, we, the undersigned, remain committed to the conservative and transparent objectives Speaker McCarthy outlined at the outset of the 118<sup>th</sup> Congress. It is our responsibility to identify the right person at this moment to lead us into the future to achieve the conservative policy objectives that we and the American people all share. We cannot allow our majority to be dictated to by the alliance between the chaos caucus and the minority party that will do nothing more than guarantee the failure of our next Speaker.

The injustice we all witnessed cannot go unaddressed—lest we bear responsibility for the consequences that follow. Our Conference must address fundamental changes to the structure of our majority to ensure success for the American people.

Sincerely,

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

Don Bacon

Member of Congress

wel I 161

Cliff Bentz

Member of Congress

Stephanie Bice

Member of Congress

Larry Bugshon, M.D.

Member of Congress

Ken Calvert

Member of Congress

en Calvert

Cori Chavez-DeRemer

Member of Congress

Juan Ciscomani

Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw

Member of Congress

Anthony D'Esposito

John S. Duarte

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Brad Finstad

Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Carlos A. Gimenez

Member of Congress

Garret Graves

Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Erin Houchin

Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

David P. Joyce

Member of Congress

Jen A K ggans

Member of Congress

Young Kim

Member of Congress

Nick LaLota

Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawlor Member of Congress

Laurel M. L

Member of Congress

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.

Carol D. Miller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress Max I Miller
Member of Congress

ames C. Moylan Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

David Rouzer
Member of Congress

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Blake D. Moore

Member of Congress

Gregory T. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Aumua Amata Coleman

Radewagen

Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford

Austin Scott

Member of Congress

Michael K. Simpson Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Vason Smith Member of Congress

uch Vm Orden